August 13, 2009 -- Photos of Prime Minister Kevin Rudd and Premier Anna Bligh adorn the wall in the Queensland Branch office of the Australian Labor Party at the TLC Building, 16 Peel Street in South Brisbane. 

Rudd was elected to the federal parliament representing the Brisbane suburban district of Griffith in 1998 (his second attempt) and led the ALP back into power in the Nov. 24, 2007 federal election.

Bligh, leader of the Queensland Government, has represented South Brisbane since 1995.  She was sworn in as Premier in Sept. 2007 following the resignation of Peter Beattie and elected in her own right in March 2009.  The Queensland Government has just one chamber, the Legislative Assembly, with 89 members.

                                                       Report on the 2009 Queensland Expedition - Eric M. Appleman